Spotted Hyena

Home > Animals > Spotted Hyena

Scientific Name: Crocuta crocuta


Hyenas are known for their distinctive laugh, which they use to communicate with other members of their clan. However, contrary to popular belief, hyenas do not laugh when they are happy or amused. Instead, the laugh is often used as a sign of submission or to signal danger to other hyenas.

There are four species of hyenas: the spotted hyena, the brown hyena, the striped hyena, and the aardwolf. The spotted hyena is the largest and most well-known species.

Hyenas are highly social animals that live in groups called clans or cackles. These groups can be made up of as many as 80 individuals. Hyenas are excellent hunters and scavengers. They have powerful jaws and teeth that allow them to crack open and consume the bones of their prey. Female hyenas are larger and more dominant than males. 

Hyenas have a reputation as being cowardly scavengers, but they are actually skilled hunters that are capable of taking down large prey such as wildebeest and zebras.


Hyenas are an important part of the ecosystem and play a vital role in maintaining the balance of their habitats. Unfortunately, many hyena populations are under threat due to habitat loss, poaching, and persecution by humans. It's important that we work to protect hyenas and their habitats so that they can continue to thrive.


Least Concern


Spotted hyenas have an average lifespan of 12-15 years in the wild, but can live up to 25 years in captivity. Brown hyenas have an average lifespan of 7-10 years in the wild, while striped hyenas have an average lifespan of 12-14 years in the wild.


Hyenas are found in a variety of habitats, including savannas, grasslands, and forests, as well as arid regions and mountainous areas. The spotted hyena is the most widespread species and can be found in sub-Saharan Africa, while the brown hyena is found in southern Africa, and the striped hyena is


Spotted hyenas are famed scavengers and often dine on the leftovers of other predators. But these hardy beasts are also skilled hunters that will take down wildebeest or antelope. They also kill and eat birds, lizards, snakes, and insects.


70 to 92 cm


Hyenas weigh 90 to 170 pounds.


They measure 37 to 59 inches in length, with a shoulder height of 29½ to 33 inches.

Related Animals

More Animals

African Lion

Amur Tiger


Bengal Tiger

Amur Leopard

Sea Lion (African Fur Seal)